This week has been so hectic. With work, trying to help others on the side, still trying to balance a social life, and caring for my family, there seems to barely be time for anything. However, if I’ve learned something over these past few days, it’s that I need to make time for what’s important.

Over the past 2 weeks, close friends to the family lost 2 family members within days of each other. I can’t imagine the heartache they must feel. My dad, being a close friend to one of the deceased, came into town to attend the services. Having him home, even if just for one night, feels right. He is missed here. But he has shown his sense of humor and thoughtfulness for us in everything he does.

I heard a wonderful quote tonight that said, “your heart will never be big until you open it.” I can’t help but think that out describes my father so perfectly. He is a walking ball of emotions. And he has no issue sharing them either. I want to follow his example. When I go somewhere, I want to be confident and make a new friend by striking up a random conversation, just as he does. I want to know so many people that others will look at each other and wonder how I am linked to everyone in the room, just as he is.

I must follow his footsteps. I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if I didn’t.

